[attack, decay, sustain, release]

ADSR Zine (est. 2018) is an online, quarterly publication that features diverse work from contributors who are, or who work with contemporary practising artists in Australia. The zine offers a 3-part conceptual scaffold that is designed to evoke responsive approaches to writing and media within a contemporary arts and performance context. 


Functioning from an ‘art begets art’ premise, we value the process of reflection, translation, interpretation, critical response and active engagement with Australian art and performance. We believe that the artist is not only an expert in their field, but offers an important voice beyond the scope of their primary discipline. 


As a magazine with a strong interdisciplinary focus, the online format allows for the delivery of written, sonic and visual resources to present, support and facilitate discourse between practising artists. We are influenced by the wave of 70’s and 80’s experimental music and art publications (NMA, Sounds Australia) which were platforms for creative and innovative solutions to writing and conceptualising experimental work.


Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release: these words, from electronic sound synthesis, present the conceptual underpinning of each section of the zine, and offer potential conceptual provocations for contributions. Contributors may use these words in any interpretive way they wish, or disregard them entirely.

Section 1: Attack​ = an immediate and succinct interrogation of something specific.

Section 2: Decay-Sustain​ = a longer-form exploration of the ephemeral quality of performance and temporal media through approaches of breaking down or extending further.

Section 3: Release​ = The release of media.


ADRS Zine Editors: James Hazel & Elia Bosshard (001 - current)

Previous Editors: Sonya Holowell (001 - 012)

Cover Art Issues 001-006 (2019): Elia Bosshard

Cover Art Issues 007-012 (2020): Nadia Odlum 

Covert Art Issues 013-016 (2021): Eliza Savage

Website design: Elia Bosshard

ADSR Zine Founders: Elia Bosshard, James Hazel, Sonya Holowell